Reviews

  • Berkhamstead

    A tour guide's role is vital as often it's the tourist's first impression with the people and culture of the place they're visiting.

  • Table Bay and Cape Town City

    Cape Town, the Mother City of South Africa, capital of the Western Cape and the most beautiful city by the sea, is on everyone's 'bucket list'.

  • ‘Fynbos’ part of the Cape Floral Kingdom, the richest in the world with more than 8 500 different species and only found in the Western Cape.

    'Fynbos' part of the Cape Floral Kingdom, the richest in the world with more than
    8 500 different species and only found in the Western Cape.

  • IMG_0533b

    Bontebok only found in South Africa and Lesotho, with the Western Cape home to the largest numbers.

  • WC-Durbanville-Hills_20120623_0024

    Our 9 different Wine Regions offer tourists more than 500 different wine estates to visit and sample cultivars such as Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc, Merlot, Shiraz and even our own exclusive Pinotage.

  • Cederberg

    Tourist will love South Africa's sunshine and exquisite scenery. We offer many outdoor activities such as hiking in the Cedarberg Mountains. "Travel makes one modest, you see what a tiny place you occupy in the world." - Gustave Flaubert

  • 0055_Western-Cape_Hermanus-Whales_22092007b

    Hermanus, only 1,5 hours from Cape Town, rated the best 'whale sighting' destination in the world. Join us for the Whale festival in September.

  • IMG_0013b

    The spring flowers along the West Coast cover the land with a colourful carpet each year from July to September.

  • Paternoster

    Coastal towns along the Cape coastline offer tourists scenic beauty, tranquility and rest.

  • Stitch-Table-Mountain-Sunset-001

    Share your love for Cape Town and South Africa with others by becoming a tourist guide. "Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

“THANK YOU FOR AN EXCELLENT COURSE! You were both caring, respectful and considerate of each student. Scott, I was touched by the manner in which you wanted the best for me and would give me suggestions relevant to my situation. Both of you were positive and upbeat even though I can imagine you had challenges and tiredness to deal with.

I found it good that you involved other people to come and talk about topics such as Bokaap, Table Mountain, Wine, even if you could have covered the topics well at less costs to yourselves. Once again, your integrity and wish to benefit your students is evident in this. Your years of experience, wide knowledge base and love for tourist guiding inspired and benefited us. You have put together a very good and pedagogically good course.

I have learned much about the Western Cape and your course and the presenters have inspired me to explore the many places and aspects of this beautiful and interesting part of the world.”
Sam Olsen, October 2017

 

“The TGI course provides an excellent foundation to enter the exciting world of Tourist Guiding. The format was a perfect balance between theory and practical application. Scott and Julie’s passion and knowledge are infectious and they are a wonderful repository of experience. The course surpassed my expectations. ”
Iqram Bux, October 2017

 

“A fantastic course and excellent value for money. The perfect balance of theory and practical. Scott and Julie are supportive and inclusive and have a thorough knowledge of the industry. As a non-South African, I found it invaluable and have gained valuable subject knowledge of the industry and Cape Town.”
Craig Lewis, October 2017

 

“The TGI course exceeded my expectations! What a wonderful course to do whether you are going into full time tourist guiding or just for interest in our beautiful Cape Town. Lecturers were incredibly knowledgeable, course material wonderfully full of information and the days out touring on the bus full of knowledge and fun. Thank you Scott and Julie! ”
Bianca Skinner, October 2017

 

“The TGI course was an enriching experience. Lectures by both Scott and Julie were not only informative, but kindled my interest and motivated further research into our fascinating country. Remarkably, all guest presenters and guides had something special about them, notably Richard the township guide. Although we were an incredibly diverse group of people, Julie magically crafted a singular team spirit. Where judgement remains all too frequent a feature of our society, Julie and Scott presented it as it is. That is the professionalism I aspire to as a tourist guide.”
Manfred Hasewinkel, July 2017

 

“I would HIGHLY recommend the course for not only has it great content which was clearly lectured, it is also fun and so well organised. Plus Julie and Scott magically made the whole group feel like a great team, enhancing individual uniqueness and engaging networking and interest for each other. Thanks so much!”
Linda Anderson, July 2017

 

“I was so impressed how much we learnt in 2 weeks! I absolutely loved every step of the way. Thank you so much to Julie and Scott for your fantastic work and to have shared your knowledge. I highly recommend TGI for all new future tourist guides. Amazing! Thank you for all the other guide/lecturers that also made the course even more interesting.”
Tourist guide student, July 2017

 

“Highly recommended! Julie and Scott are a wealth of knowledge and both very likeable. Scott’s History lesson was very informative. Julie is calm, speaks clearly and is very methodical. Met some amazing people along the way too!”
Kurt Krause, July 2017

 

“This course made me love tourism more with all the facts, History and Geography. I’m glad I chose TGI. I thought I knew Cape Town, but I was wrong as TGI taught me a lot more.”
Thandiwe Mthombo, May 2017

 

“I had done research into the many institutes before choosing TGI. I loved the warmth, modesty and profession mannerisms of all the lecturers. I think the staff of TGI really cares about what they do and they have a passion for the industry.”
Shiraj Hoosain, May 2017

 

“This course will change your perception about Cape Town. I loved it and got me so excited to pursue a career in tourism and tourist guiding. Do it as you won’t regret it! ”
Jonathan Lechtman, May 2017

 

“Excellent course with dedicated lecturers. This course handles  all the specifications of being a tourist guide and tour operator. You also get to experience several tours for yourself and practise the techniques learnt in class”
Tourist guide student, May 2017

 

“I would really recommend TGI as it opened up a whole new beginning for me. Everyone was kind and helpful and I learnt a lot during the course. Keep up the great work Julie and Scott!”
Lisa Groenewald, February Part Time 2017

 

“Short course with sufficient information to build on as a new guide that is just starting out. Sites we visited were really interesting.”
Afroz, February Part Time 2017

 

“I would truly suggest the Tourist Guide Institute to friends and family. I am from Gauteng and have learnt so much about Cape Town and its history. Very interesting course material and content.”
Tourist Guide Student, February Part Time 2017

 

“The pace was fast but there is a wealth of information covered. All my expectations were met and more. If you are serious about becoming a guide, don’t even think of another provider – go straight to TGI. Well worth it!”
Ronel Theron, February 2017

 

“The pace was fast but there is a wealth of information covered. All my expectations were met and more. If you are serious about becoming a guide, don’t even think of another provider – go straight to TGI. Well worth it!”
Ronel Theron, February 2017

 

“Thank you for a wonderful course which exceeded my expectations. I now feel well-equipped for what lies ahead.”
Tourist Guide Student, February 2017

 

“The amount of information packed into a two week course is truly remarkable. Julie and Scott were absolutely experts in the field and were a pleasure to work with from administration, to facilitation and lecturing. I am highly impressed, thank you so much.”
Pasqual Bisogno, October 2016

 

“This is such an awesome course and I would recommend this institute to everybody wanting to do a tourist guide course. It was informative, easy and fun way of learning. Thank you to all the people helping me with something I love doing, seeing my country”
Robert Marthinus, October 2016

 

“I chose TGI based on their website. It was great that they have all the important information very clearly set out and easy to find. The course and contact far exceeded my expectations. I learnt much more than I had hoped for.”
Ansie de Wet, October 2016

 

“I thoroughly enjoyed the course with Scott and Julie and can honestly say that the experience and knowledge the two of them bring to the classroom is impressive. Not only knowledgeable, but lots of fun and a great group dynamic.”
Karina Esterhuizen, October 2016

 

“I can absolutely recommend TGI. A very relevant, interesting and professional course. Very good balance between theory and practice.”
Tourist Guide Student, September 2016

 

“For all those aspiring to become tourist guides, this is a great institution to learn all about it. It was an eye opener for us to see the greater Cape Town especially those things we take for granted.”
Tourist Guide Student, September 2016

 

“Excellent course, great lecturers and guides making us understand the content of the course and how important the course is. I am so happy with Julie and Scott – awesome course.”
Tourist Guide Student, September 2016

 

“I wanted to take  this opportunity to thank you both sincerely for the course thus far. I have been nothing but impressed with both of your levels of devotion, energy, knowledge and friendliness. I absolutely loved the classes conducted especially by both of you, but also the well selected peers that you chose for some of the specialist modules; all outstanding. I realise what makes the difference between you two and any other course instructors: your teaching backgrounds!

I count my lucky stars that TGI came up first on the web search when I decided to do the course (no accident I am sure!). An associate of mine recommended another service provider and whilst I have no doubt that they are good, I cannot believe that they can be better than a husband and wife former teacher team so dedicated to their craft and trade. You’re a great and complimentary combination and we are fortunate to have been under your tutorship. If anybody, including myself, doesn’t make it it will be entirely our faults because the tutors and material are first class.

Thank you both again. You have been amazing and inspiring and I will continue to recommend TGI to any one who asks where I trained or whom they might approach for training. I hope to do justice to your efforts in the future and become a good example of the calibre of guides that TGI produces.”
David Steyn, July/August 2016

 

“Hard to fault! Excellent facilitators, communication before and during the course, outstanding lecturers, excellent course information. Congratulations to Scott and Julie for running such a professional course. You are true ambassadors and flag bearers for the tourism industry!”
Tourist Guide Student, July/August 2016

 

“I would recommend this course to anyone that wants to do tourism. It has been such a great experience and fun. Scott and Julie have really been fantastic throughout the whole course and I’d love to stay in contact. I have really enjoyed this amazing course. Thank you so much. You guys are the best!”
JJ Buekes, July/August 2016

 

“Scott and Julie run a professional and fun course. Their years of guiding experience shine throughout both the practical and theory course work. I would confidently recommend them and their learning programme.”
Tourist Guide Student, June 2016

 

“Way beyond my expectations! An in-depth course with specialist lecturers and practical training. Highly recommend”
Peter Krainhofner, June 2016

 

“Competent, experienced lecturers present a comprehensive, theoretical and practical guide training with very good guest lecturers. I recommend this thorough, professional and enjoyable course to all considering such a career.”
Ruth Kay, June 2016

 

“The course not only equips you for the tourism industry, it also gives you a rich and refreshing appreciation of our country’s history and how we became this wonderful country that Desmond Tutu calls the ‘Rainbow Nation’.”
Tourist Guide Student, April 2016

 

“If you can put 2 weeks of your life aside and then time to do assignments, it is better than a holiday. I learnt more computer skills as well, met wonderful new friends and the lecturers were great. Thank you Scott and the rest of the team.”
Jane Verster-Cohen, April 2016

 

“When signing up for the part-time course, I did not know what to expect. From day 1 I was pleasantly surprised and impressed by all the lecturers/facilitators in conducting the course. They are full of knowledge, advice, practical tips and guidance throughout the course. I highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to make their dream a reality. Big thank you to Scott, Julie and Kirsty for their amazing efforts in making this a memorable course.”
Regardt Hennop, February Part Time Course 2016

 

“I’ve never been on any course, where I have enjoyed every single moment and all aspects of it. I highly recommend this course to anyone of all ages. Absolutely fantastic!”
Andre Claassen, February Part Time Course 2016

 

“The course is excellent and made me feel alive with more knowledge. Thanks for giving me the opportunity.”
Zhilan (Jenny) Chiang, February 2016

 

“TGI was a great experience. Very knowledgeable teachers with humour, but very high standards too. The course is not a walk in the park, but will make your life richer. If you intend to become a tourist guide, go to TGI for training as you won’t regret it!”
Steven van Hoof, February 2016

 

“At the beginning of the course, I didn’t plan to be a tourist guide. I just wanted to get to know Cape Town and its environment, but the enthusiasm of Scott and Julie has captured me and now I am challenged as I now want to be a tourist guide.”
Kathleen Aerts, February 2016

 

“This was a fast paced, fully packed 10 days with a great balance of classroom lecturers and fieldwork learning in an informative, highly professional and well humoured way. Highly recommended.”
Tourist Guide student, February 2016

 

“I can recommend TGI wholeheartedly. Comprehensive notes, competent and interesting lecturers and guides. Strong practical aspect also included. ”
Steve Kipps, February 2016

 

“Professional lecturers in all areas of the course. I don’t know how you could manage 24 students all the time with different cultures, nationalities and ideas! I would for sure recommend this course because we also had fun and we made new friends and maybe future business partners. Thanks for sharing your knowledge. ”
Greta Guatri, February 2016

 

“This is an excellent opportunity to get to know your own town and surrounding by doing this site guide course. It opens your eyes to new buildings, sites and other opportunities around you.”
Tourist Guide student, November in Knysna 2015

 

“This course is amazing. The facilitators are very professional, informative and very helpful. I have learnt so much and look forward to proceeding to the next level.”
Tamara Best, November in Knysna 2015

 

“Our facilitators were fun and friendly and made us feel welcome from the start. Amazing how much we were able to learn in just 3 days. I cannot wait to learn more. Thank you.”
Tourist Guide student, November in Knysna 2015

 

“I found the course to be comprehensive with an optimal balance between theoretical and practical training, which provided a total immerse experience. Julie and Scott’s professionalism, experience and tuition background shone through in the presentations and administration of the course.”
Julian Grunewald, October 2015

 

“What a wealth of info and training we have received about our country and the tourism industry. The course was professionally done and well worth it. Thanks to Julie and Scott and the other lecturers involved. Great course!”
Tourist Guide student, October 2015

 

“I attended this course even though my first language is French. I highly recommend TGI. The fees that I paid compared to what I experienced and TGI equipped me with, are not comparable. The fees were so cheap.”
Elben Makabo, October 2015

 

“I really enjoyed the last two weeks. I have learnt a great amount and I feel comfortable to go out there and rock the industry. I have also loved meeting such interesting people within the group – overall a great experience!”
Tourist Guide student, October 2015

 

“Julie and Scott are experienced and knowledgeable tour operators/tourist guides. They have offered a wealth of knowledge and have freely shared invaluable guiding experience in an effort to equip us for the challenging, yet enjoyable vocation of guiding. We hope to became good ambassadors of Cape Town, the Western Cape and in fact the whole of South Africa, offering tourists of our country a truly memorable holiday experience. ”
Tourist Guide student, August 2015

 

“So happy to have done this course. I love my country even more and so much still to learn. Very professional and class size was very comfortable.”
Tourist Guide student, August 2015

 

“Extremely great value for money. Very comprehensive and great examples of professionalism, but at the same time adding lots and lots of laughter with humour and the absolute best and fun practical activities. Thanks a million! ”
Tourist Guide student, August 2015

 

“Highly recommended. The course covers more than what you need to start in the guiding industry! Great value for money!”
Tourist  Guide student, August 2015

 

“The course was a thoroughly comprehensive combo of theory and practical. Excellent training.”
Stephanie Clarke, August 2015

 

“The course exceeded my expectations on all levels. Julie and Scott’s experience, knowledge and passion drives this fast paced, exciting, challenging and fun course. I wish I had done the course earlier. Thank you!”
Melinda Woodhead, July 2015

 

“I have been amazed by this course and my expectations have been exceeded!  Scott and Julie provide a course that gives a really solid background and practical experience in tourist guiding. Theu are passionate about this and I have come from being someone with a hazy view of guiding and what it entails to having a good understanding and definitely wanting this to be my future career. And it is so cheap for what you get!! (I really think they should increase the course price.)”
Lorna McEwan, July 2015

 

“I am so glad that I was part of this group. I really enjoyed learning from all the students and lecturers. It has been such an amazing time and everything I have learnt from each one has so much wisdom. You are all incredible people. Words could never express what an experience it has been to be with you all. Thank you for reminding me what a wonderful country we have here. I’m infinitely inspired by you all.”
Xolile Mateza, July 2015

 

“I thank Scott and Julie very much for their professionalism and granting me the opportunity to do the course. They were very humble and always with a helping hand to me whenever I needed it.”
Mujahid Arai, July 2015

 

“Julie and Scott are excellent, lots of info, but no room for getting lost at all as they make sure everyone understands every detail. You are very special.”
Retha van der Kolff, July 2015

 

“My company chose Tourist Guide Institute to train me as a tourist guide and now I see why they did as TGI are excellent. I experienced a lot of information, friendly lecturers. I shall tell a lot of people to come to this Institute.”
Tourist guide student, July 2015

 

“Outstanding teachers! Learnt so much about the Western Cape in a two week course. Great value for money.”
Tourist guide student, July 2015

 

“This husband and wife team are really awesome with their educational knowledge and people skills, handling each individual in such a professional way.”
Marcelle Whatney, July 2015

 

“With the course offered at TGI, they really grab your hand and ‘guide’ you through the process of going from being the average Joe to becoming a professional tourist guide.”
Sebastian Thielemann , July 2015

 

“This course can be a career changer. It is an eye opener and the knowledge shared and gained is worth every cent spent. I would recommend this course at all times.”
Inge Kritzinger, June Part Time Course 2015

 

“Excellent starting point to understanding the industry. TGI is professional and encouraging as an institution. most importantly, they are true subject matter experts so rest assured you are in safe hands!”
CJ Gardelli, June Part Time Course 2015

 

“I would just like to thank the both of you for the amazing opportunity to have studied through your company. Your passion and professionalism was inspiring and the love in what you both do is very evident. It has been an absolute pleasure to have spent time with you guys and I wish you all of God’s richest blessings for your lives.”
Steven Barnard, May 2015

 

“An excellent, fun filled, well presented learning experience. Thank you for imparting your knowledge, experience and passion to us.”
 Tourist guide student, May 2015

 

“This course has exceeded all my expectations. It is worth every cent and if potential students knew what TGI has to offer, they would not consider and other course providers. Brilliant!”
 Tourist guide student, May 2015

 

“I recommend this course to anyone who wants to take on tourist guiding. It was a memorable, uplifting and educational as well as very stimulating. Great people and a great course!”
 Geoff Olivier, March 2015

 

“Wonderful experience, met wonderful people and had an amazing time. I learnt a lot, experienced even more and am motivated to make guiding tourists a fun-filled, exceptional South African journey.”
Tourist Guide Student, March 2015

 

“Very well run and inclusive course with professional and well-presented lecturers.”
Clive Rossouw, March 2015

 

“The course is an eye opener. Lots to learn and afterwards you value the things you have in your country”
Tourist Guide Student, March 2015

 

“I just wanted to send you a short note to thank you for the fantastic two weeks. The course was great and I enjoyed learning so much about our wonderful city and area.
The course was put together very professionally and for me had the right mix of class room work and excursions. The other guest lectures were great and presented with a lot of passion for their subject.”
Friedrich Schaefer, March 2015

 

“The Womacks have the most professional way of educating all types of people, catering for all nations of the world, making sure that everyone’s education is priceless.”
William Roldy, October 2014

 

” From start to finish my dealings with Tourist Guide Institute were out of the top drawer – 100% professional. Many thanks,”
Lindsay Grier, October 2014

 

“This was a very professional, caring and well run course. Julie and Scott compliment each other well and form a formidable team. The participants were diverse in age, background and experience which added to the enjoyment. It is however a very intensive course and needs to be taken seriously.”
Tourist Guide Student, October 2014

 

” I highly recommend the course with TGI because they value the outcomes, are passionate and give us the courage to succeed beyond the course. I never felt alone during the course and I believe I will always have the support of everyone I met on the course especially Scott and Julie.”
Peggy Mongoato, October 2014 

 

“Scott and Julie make you feel excited and confident about your journey to become a tourist guide. I would recommend TGI to all future tourist guides out there.”
Tourist Guide Student, August 2014

 

“The course was enlightening and empowered me to enjoy my environment and country on a much deeper level.”
Sari Rousseau, August 2014 

 

“I was excited and thankful when I received confirmation from you that I was accepted to the Tourist Guide Course (Cultural site tour Guide  level 4) that ran during July- August 2014. I am writing now to thank you for an exceptionally well presented course, that was enjoyable, stimulating, and eye opening.

In my opinion Tourist Guide Institute scores five stars out of a maximum five for the course. I expand my opinion on just a few elements of the course, so that you can have a flavour of where that perfect score comes from.

Course Content
The course content covered everything from the administrative aspects of being a good tour guide, the ethics of guiding, the business aspects, the safety aspects, the role that the guides personality plays in the client experience and above all, an excellent range of information about everything that the Cape Town and its surroundings offer visitors.

What I particularly appreciated was the fact that you encouraged your students throughout the course to explore the information in terms of whose perspective the information were constructed, and to lay that bare to the visitors. This means that the students that come through your hands are trained to open different and overlapping windows of understandings to visitors rather than just offering clients information that are seen from one perspective.

Teaching method
The combination of class room based teaching, and field trip based teaching methods are well tested, and you obviously have lots of experience in using these methods well. What I think is exceptional about your class room based teaching, is that you make sure that you communicate clearly so that also those students who do not have English mother tongue, fully participate in the learning process.

Your field based teaching method was just mind blowing. The students were treated as they would need to treat the tourists. When you (Julie) shared information, you spoke like you would to tourists. You held our attention by your conversation like teaching methods. You were interesting, we were relaxed, and to me it did not feel like we were hard at work students. We were enjoying  and learning from the field trip.

When I wrote the formal and on-line exam as well as the unit standards, I was amazed to realize that almost everything that you  spoke of in conversation, were  examined. The course is intensive, lots of information, lots of practice and very little time. You wasted no time. Every part of the course, including the fun parts, had a purpose. There was nothing in the exam that we did not cover in some way. You also made sure that all of us knew how to look up information, so that we could continue expanding our information base. That was great too.

You  knew how to pitch the course so that people from various educational backgrounds could get a glimpse into how to pitch a tour for the “average” tourist. Of course, there is no such thing as the average tourist. You know that I prefer to tailor a tour as far as possible to what the particular visitor would enjoy. What you gave me by pitching the course the way you did, was a starting point. Where do I start my communication process with people who I know very little about. From there of course, it becomes easier to shape and reshape a tour experience to suit a visitor’s preferences.
To sum up, the course delivery was impeccable.

Attitude
Your attitude towards your students, and others was professional, polite, and sometimes fun.  Always honest. A good example for students who will be working closely with people.

Flexibility
From the beginning, students knew what was expected from them, what the deadlines were and what the consequences are if deadlines were not met. There was therefore no excuse for not meeting deadlines. Yet, you were flexible in at least one case where a student had to postpone working on her unit standards because of personal reasons totally beyond her control. You did have your boundaries, and that is as it should be. Yet, you have not once add more “stress” to an already “stressed” situation. You managed it excellently. Thank you.

Accessibility
You are both busy professionals, yet you were available to students who needed advice after hours as well (not just about the course work, but also about how to access lifts to and from the training venue).”
Zulaiga Worth, July 2014

 

“I absolutely recommend to anyone interested in becoming a tourist guide to get their qualifications from Tourist Guide Institute.

My expectations far exceeded on all levels. I was absolutely blown away by the professionalism and passion Scott and Julie conveyed. All the lecturers and external tourist guides were excellently chosen. The itinerary was suitable, exciting and educational in my opinion.

This course was absolutely great value for money and there were no additional hidden costs. So if you don’t want to just be an average tourist guide, but rather a great and successful tourist guide, don’t think twice and choose Tourist Guide Institute.”
Tourist Guide Student, July 2014

 

“The course far exceeded all my expectations, both theoretically and practically. I learnt very practical and valuable guiding skills. Julie has a passion for guiding and teaching that makes the course interesting and exciting. I am so thankful I chose Tourist Guide Institute for my guiding course.”
Lorna Romer, July 2014

 

“An excellent, well run, knowledge-packed, fun-filled course. Loved every minute of it and would highly recommend.”
Yvette Kramer, July 2014

 

“The way you guy’s ran and organized the course was fantastic. Every person who wants to do the qualification to be a tourist guide, should do the training through Tourist Guide Institute. She or he can’t be in better hands than with you. It was fun to learn much about our beloved Cape Town. There’s no place like it. Thanks a million.”
Peter Wissdorf, March 2014

 

“Firstly I want to thank you for the course we just finished. It was conducted in a most professional and practical but also enjoyable way and I will highly recommend without the slightest reservation, the tourist guide institute to anybody interested to become a tourist guide.

I am in true amazement on how you managed to bring the complicated procedures required for applications and registrations, into clarity in the course notes and other documents.  The 2 volumes of notes contain such an incredible wealth of information!

Julie you have a great passion to make it possible for your learners and I have seen you going out of your way, consistent patient, friendly, neutral, greatly articulate, clear, enthusiastic. It was a privilege to have you as a trainer for this!

Scott your rapidity in answering email correspondence and the clarity of information given with your answers not only impressed me but also made me feel that this is the right training provider for me. I am very glad I chose you guys.

The external speakers added a lot to the course, some of them hugely inspiring! So did the practical bus tours with microphone practice.

A great 2 weeks! Thank you.”
Margit Gilliot, March 2014

 

“I recently took part in the Tourist Guide course presented by Scott and Julie Womack. I researched a few courses but this one was recommended to me. I have just completed two weeks of practical – I have found the teaching methods to be of a very high standard – it helps to be taught by a teacher. We met specialists in all of the areas that we have been lectured on – this is a fantastic concept as it allows the learner first- hand experience from a master and not to just be taught Parrot Style. We have also been exposed to real situations. The learning is very interactive – allowing the students to participate in group activities and to network with one another. I feel that when I go into the trade, I will have a good foundation of knowledge and support and would recommend this
course to any future learners.”
Nicola Hendriks, October 2013

 

“Excellent course! Very relevant theory as well as practical exposure. Great comraderie amongst the group. This is the place to start if you want to embark on a tourist guide career.”
André Viviers, October 2013

 

“Very professional course; personable, caring leaders; top quality guest lecturers. A lot of fun as well!”
Jason Buch, October 2013

 

“The Tour Guide Training Course has been managed in a very brilliant way, as Julie and Scott Womack are very experienced Tourist Guides themselves as well as very skilled teachers (both of them are professional teachers). The course has been set up along two weeks with teachers and lecturers being able to transfer not just essential academic knowledge, but also practical skills, leadership, passion and motivation. In my opinion, the most important value of this course is a different, absolutely professional and ethical way to consider the Tourist Guide’s job, to be seen as a complex, integrated profession linked to many aspects of management. I warmly recommend this course to colleagues interested in tourist guiding: it will be not just a two-week course, but an unforgettable experience generating a new way to think about our profession. A special thanks is due to Julie and Scott for their kindness, commitment, passion and enthusiasm.” (shortened)
Dr Corrado Passi, October 2013

 

“I honestly enjoyed Julie. She is an outstanding teacher with a genuine kind nature. Her selection of site guides who took us on various tours in and around Cape Town, were all passionate and inspirational for any aspiring tour guide.”
Launa Arntzen, October 2013

 

“Well done Julie and Scott. Excellent first course which established and inspired me to become a knowledgeable guide.”
Nicole da Silva, October 2013

 

“Really informative course – well worth it. Scott and Julie are really great at what they do.”
Julian Lello, October 2013

 

“Scott and Julie are fantastic! There is lots to learn on this course, but theey explained things clearly and are very professional.”
Samantha Drysdale, October 2013

 

“I wasn’t sure what to expect from the guide course, especially going in with working industry knowledge and although some of the aspects covered were laborious, on the whole it was a superb experience. The course was expertly run with excellent guest guides who are all masters of their respective fields. The touring days give you extensive knowledge of the areas where one will be taking clients and it is all set in a relaxed class environment. Would definitely recommend to anyone interested in guiding in the Cape!”
Jono Durham, October 2013